Ronnie Gardner wins the USAC Midget Main and announces that he is retiring from driving and going to work for the famous Kieth Kunz Motorsports.

Trevor Fitzgibbon win the IMCA Modified Feature and takes the 2018 track championship.

Johnny Conley wins another VRA Dwarf Car Main.

Tyler Hatzikian wins the Senior Sprint Car Main.

Mike Leach makes it two in a row with another Focus Main win.

Saturday, September 15th, saw the first appearance of the USAC Midgets at Ventura Raceway in 2018. On a beautiful Saturday night, race fans were treated to another night of exciting racing action. USAC Midgets, VRA Dwarf Cars, IMCA, VRA Focus and Senior Sprints were on hand to compete for points as the 2018 season winds down.

Twenty-one USAC Midgets were on hand for their first race here in 2018. Three heat races were run with wins going to Robert Dalby in heat one, Alex Schutte in heat two and Ronnie Gardner in heat three. Michael Faccinto took fast time honors with a 11.757 second lap. They then ran their 30 lap main event with the win going to Ronnie Gardner followed by Michael Faccinto, Robby Josett, Robert Dalby and Shannon McQueen. These competitors always put on exciting racing. They will be back on October 27th, with their final tune up for the Turkey Night Grand Prix race in November.

In VRA Dwarf Cars, point leader Johnny Conley got back to his winning ways with the win in their 20 lap main event. He was followed across the line by Tom Morley, Tommy Velasquez III, Robert Peters and Jason Horton. Two heat races were run with wins going to Jason Horton in heat one and Robert Peters in heat two. With two races left in the season, Johnny Conley has a 190 point lead over Jason Horton.

Eleven VRA Senior Sprints continued their season with two heat races, which were won by
Tyler Hatzikian heat one and Chris Meredith in heat two. The 20 lap main event was another excellent event which went to Tyler Hatzikian, followed by Rick Hendrix, Chris Meredith, Joey Bishop and Tom Stephens Sr. Chris Meredith now leads Wally Pankratz by 130 points after eight races.

A ten car field of IMCA Modifieds took to the track for their final race of 2018. When all was said and done, after a hard fought race, Trevor Fitgibbon claimed his first IMCA track championship by taking the win in their 20 lap feature event. He was followed across the line by Dave Phipps, Donald Houghton, Austin Rodarte and Austin Grabowski. They ran two heat races, with the wins going to Chuck Costabile and Andrew Greiman. The final point standing saw Trevor Fitzgibbon take the season championship by 3 points over Donald Houghton.

The final group running Saturday night were the VRA Focus Midgets. Six cars were in attendance for the night. They ran one heat race with the win going to Mike Leach. They then ran their 20 lap main event, which also went to Mike Leach, followed across the line by Tim Foy, Randi Pankratz, Mike Mehl and Keoni Texeria. Mike Leach leads Keoni Texeria by 510 points with two races remaining.

Ventura Raceway is now dark until October 6th, when we will resume our racing with VRA Sprints, California Lightning Sprints, VRA Dwarf Cars, Hobby Stocks and Focus Midgets. For any information on upcoming events or Turkey Night Grand Prix tickets, please check out our website at, our Facebook page or call (805) 648-7223.

Ventura Raceway Race Results for 09/15/2018

USAC Midget
Race #1 09/15/2018

Main Event Results: 1. Ronnie Gardner, Norco, Ca, 30 Laps; 2. Michael Faccinto, Hanford, 30 Laps; 3. Robby Josett, Santa Clarita, 30 Laps; 4. Robert Dalby, Anaheim, 30 Laps; 5. Shannon McQueen, Tehachapi, 30 Laps; 6. Jake Swanson, Anaheim, 30 Laps; 7. C.J. Sarna, Palm Desert, 30 Laps; 8. Tristan Guardino, Fremont, CA, 30 Laps; 9. David Prickett, Fresno, 30 Laps; 10. Clayton Ruston, Yorba Linda, Ca, 30 Laps; 11. Daniel Anderson, Los Angeles, 30 Laps; 12. Ashley Hazelton-Heredia, Northridge, 30 Laps; 13. Mike Leach Jr., Foothill Ranch, 30 Laps; 14. Kyle Beilman, Santa Monica, 30 Laps; 15. Dylan Ito, Newberry Park, 29 Laps; 16. Alex Schutte, Redding, 26 Laps; 17. Bruce Hiroshima, Camarillo, 23 Laps; 18. Bryan Drollinger, Lomita, 20 Laps; 19. Tristin Thomas, Burlington, WA, 5 Laps; 20. Randi Pankratz, Atascadero, 0 Laps; 21. Keoni Texeira, Honalulu, HI, 0 Laps
Lap Leaders: Robert Dalby (1-3), Michael Faccinto (4-8), Ronnie Gardner (9-30)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Robert Dalby; Heat 2: Alex Schutte; Heat 3: Ronnie Gardner

Ventura Raceway does not calculate points for this class


VRA Pro Dwarf Cars
Race #10 09/15/2018

Main Event Results: 1. Johnny Conley, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 2. Tom Morley, Woodland Hills, 20 Laps; 3. Tommy Velasquez III, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 4. Robert Peters, Barona, 20 Laps; 5. Jason Horton, Oxnard, 20 Laps; 6. Nick Velasquez, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 7. Tommy Velasquez, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 8. Mike Long, Thousand Oaks, 20 Laps; 9. Shane Linenberger, 12 Laps; 10. Jeff Hinz, Saugus, 8 Laps; 11. Trent Morley, Woodland Hills, 5 Laps; 12. Jeff Brink, Ventura, 5 Laps; 13. John Harris, El Cajon, 5 Laps
Lap Leaders: Trent Morley (1-5), Johnny Conley (6-20)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Jason Horton; Heat 2: Robert Peters

Top 10 in points: 1. Johnny Conley, 2380; 2. Jason Horton, 2190; 3. Tommy Velasquez III, 2165; 4. Nick Velasquez, 1745; 5. Trent Morley, 1535; 6. Tom Morley, 1515; 7. Tommy Velasquez, 1465; 8. Tony Pellegrino, 1290; 9. Jeff Brink, 1230; 10. Korey Cowan, 1110


VRA Senior Sprints
Race #8 09/15/2018

Main Event Results: 1. Tyler Hatzikian, El Segundo, 20 Laps; 2. Rick Hendrix, Palmdale, 20 Laps; 3. Chris Meredith, Thousand Oaks, 20 Laps; 4. Joey Bishop, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 5. Tom Stephens Sr, Ventura, 20 Laps; 6. Bruce Hiroshima, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 7. Nate Robinson, Ventura, 20 Laps; 8. Mike English, Norwalk, 19 Laps; 9. Paul Mircik, 19 Laps; 10. Eddie Williams, El Segundo, 9 Laps; 11. Wally Pankratz, Orange, 7 Laps
Lap Leaders: Eddie Williams (1-6), Tyler Hatzikian (7-20)

Heat Race Winners: SpinTech Mufflers Heat 1: Tyler Hatzikian; Saldana Racing Products Heat 2: Chris Meredith

Top 10 in points: 1. Chris Meredith, 1410; 2. Wally Pankratz, 1280; 3. Eddie Williams, 1205; 4. Tyler Hatzikian, 1100; 5. Tom Stephens Sr, 1090; 6. Greg Andrews, 710; 7. Joey Bishop, 700; 8. Paul Mircik, 650; 9. Rick Hendrix, 485; 10. Bill Badger, 375


IMCA Modifieds
Race #8 09/15/2018

Main Event Results: 1. Trevor Fitzgibbon, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 2. Dave Phipps, Simi Valley, 20 Laps; 3. Donald Houghton, Rosamond, 20 Laps; 4. Austin Rodarte, Ventura, 20 Laps; 5. Austin Grabowski, 20 Laps; 6. Jack Parker, Simi Valley, 20 Laps; 7. Andrew Greiman, Newbury Park, 20 Laps; 8. Chuck Costabile, Simi Valley, 20 Laps; 9. Luis Espinoza, Castaic, 19 Laps; 10. Scott Olsen, Ventura, 15 Laps
Lap Leaders: Scott Olsen (1-3), Dave Phipps (4-14), Trevor Fitzgibbon (15-20)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Chuck Costabile; Heat 2: Andrew Greiman

Top 10 in points: 1. Trevor Fitzgibbon, 292; 2. Donald Houghton, 289; 3. Luis Espinoza, 283; 4. Jack Parker, 282; 5. Dave Phipps, 268; 6. Andrew Greiman, 264; 7. Austin Rodarte, 186; 8. Dennis Eckert, 179; 9. Brad Prows, 132; 10. Scott Olsen, 125; 10. Chuck Costabile, 125


Focus Midgets
Race #7 09/15/2018

Main Event Results: 1. Mike Leach Jr., Foothill Ranch, 20 Laps; 2. Chris Tramel, San Diego, 20 Laps; 3. Randi Pankratz, Atascadero, 20 Laps; 4. Mike Mehl, 20 Laps; 5. Keoni Texeira, Honalulu, HI, 19 Laps; 6. Mike Leach Sr., Foot Hill Ranch, 18 Laps

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Randi Pankratz

Top 10 in points: 1. Mike Leach Jr., 1600; 2. Keoni Texeira, 1090; 3. Randi Pankratz, 1070; 4. Chris Tramel, 825; 5. Phil Schack, 600; 6. Tim Foy, 545; 7. Jet Davison, 435; 8. Mike Leach Sr., 380; 9. Jessica Valentine, 365; 10. Gage Rucker, 325


Report Created by Ventura Raceway Scoring Program
Report Created: 09/15/2018 23:57