Kyle Smith wins the June 2nd VRA Sprint Car Main.

Jason Horton wins an action packed VRA Dwarf Car Main

Tyler Hatzikian won his first ever VRA Senior Sprint Car Main

Donald Houghton back in the winners circle with the IMCA Feature win

Gary Rayburn drove down from Santa Maria and took home the Hobby Stock Feature win

Ventura Raceway’s 2018 season resumed Saturday night June 2, with a full program of exciting short track racing. The fans in attendance saw close, hard fought competition all night long from the opening heats to the final main events. VRA Sprint Cars, VRA Dwarf Cars, VRA Hobby Stocks, VRA Senior Sprints and IMCA Modifieds were on hand for a night of very competitive racing action.

Nine VRA Sprints were on hand Saturday night to continue their 2018 season. Two heat races were run with wins going to Jeremy Ellertson in heat one and Kyle Smith in heat two. They then ran their 30 lap main event with the win going to 2017 series champion Kyle Smith. Jeremy Ellertson finished second with Charlie Butcher third, Sterling Cling fourth and Ryan Stoltz fifth. After three races in 2018, Kyle Smith leads Jeremy Ellertson by 35 points in the season long point race.

In VRA Dwarf Cars, Jason Horton took his second win of the season over a field of 18 VRA Dwarf Cars. In one of the best dwarf car races in memory, Horton took the win over Johnny Conley, Tommy Velasquez III, Trent Morley and Kody Cowan. Three heat races were run with wins going to Johnny Conley in heat one, Tom Morley in heat two and Tommy Velasquez in heat three. This race concluded with the top three so close in turn four on the final lap that a blanket could have covered them! As the three cars exited turn four, it was anyone’s race. Horton held the others off to take the win. In the point race, Horton closed to a 30 point deficit to point leader Johnny Conley after four races.

Nine IMCA Modifieds continued their season with two heat races, which were won by Dave Phipps in heat one and Jack Parker in heat two. The 20 lap main event was another fast and furious event, which went to past track champion Donald Houghton. 2017 champ Luis Espinoza finished second, followed by Dennis Eckert, Dave Phipps and Austin Rodarte. After three races Luis Espinoza and Andrew Greiman are tied for the point lead with Donald Houghton 3 points behind them.

A short field of four of VRA Hobby Stocks took to the track for their third race of the season. They ran one heat race with the win going to visiting Santa Maria driver Gary Rayburn. Their 12 lap main event went to Rayburn, followed by Tom Stevens Sr., Mike Stanford and Heath Morton.

The final group running Saturday night was the VRA Senior Sprints. This class was a late addition to the night’s action but the eight Senior Sprints in attendance put on a great night of racing. They ran two heat races with the win in heat one going to Wally Pankratz and heat two going to Chris Meredith. They then ran their 20 lap main event which went to first time winner Tyler Hatzikian, followed across the line by Chris Meredith, Wally Pankratz, Greg Anderson and Ed Schwarz. Past series champion Chris Meredith and Wally Pankratz are tied for the point lead followed by Tyler Hatzikian 10 points behind them after three races in 2018.

Ventura Raceway returns to action on Saturday June 16th with the next Flat Track/Speedway Race of the new season. For any information on upcoming motorcycle events, please check out our website at, our Facebook page or call (805) 208-9656. Hope to see you there!

Ventura Raceway Race Results for 06/02/2018

VRA Sprint Cars
Race #3 06/02/2018

Main Event Results: 1. Kyle Smith, Moorpark, 30 Laps; 2. Jeremy Ellertson, Lawndale, 30 Laps; 3. Charlie Butcher, Santa Barbara, 30 Laps; 4. Sterling Cling, Tempe, Az, 30 Laps; 5. Ryan Stolz, Atascadero, 29 Laps; 6. Ed Schwarz, Santa Fe Springs, 29 Laps; 7. Tyler Hatzikian, El Segundo, 29 Laps; 8. Joey Bishop, Camarillo, 1 Lap; 9. Brandon Wiley, Santa Maria, 0 Laps
Lap Leaders: Kyle Smith (1-30)

Heat Race Winners: Extreme Mufflers Heat 1: Jeremy Ellertson; Saldana Racing Products Heat 2: Kyle Smith

Top 10 in points: 1. Kyle Smith, 495; 2. Jeremy Ellertson, 460; 3. Charlie Butcher, 380; 4. Joey Bishop, 330; 5. Brody Roa, 260; 6. Sterling Cling, 205; 7. Danny Parrish, 190; 7. Ed Schwarz, 190; 9. Ryan Stolz, 185; 10. Gage Rucker, 180; 10. Kyle Edwards, 180


VRA Senior Sprints
Race #3 06/02/2018

Main Event Results: 1. Tyler Hatzikian, El Segundo, 20 Laps; 2. Chris Meredith, Thousand Oaks, 20 Laps; 3. Wally Pankratz, Orange, 20 Laps; 4. Greg Andrews, Fillmore, Ca, 20 Laps; 5. Ed Schwarz, Santa Fe Springs, 20 Laps; 6. Eddie Williams, El Segundo, 20 Laps; 7. Joe Bishop, Camarillo, 19 Laps; 8. Paul Merrick, 18 Laps

Heat Race Winners: SpinTech Mufflers Heat 1: Wally Pankratz; Saldana Racing Products Heat 2: Chris Meredith

Top 10 in points: 1. Chris Meredith, 460; 1. Wally Pankratz, 460; 3. Tyler Hatzikian, 450; 4. Ed Schwarz, 410; 5. Greg Andrews, 375; 6. Eddie Williams, 355; 7. Joe Bishop, 315; 8. Rick Hendrix, 250; 9. Danny Parrish, 195; 10. Paul Merrick, 165


VRA Pro Dwarf Cars
Race #4 06/02/2018

Main Event Results: 0. David Conley, Oxnard, 0 Laps1. Jason Horton, Oxnard, 20 Laps; 2. Johnny Conley, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 3. Tommy Velasquez III, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 4. Trent Morley, Woodland Hills, 20 Laps; 5. Kody Cowan, Lancaster, 20 Laps; 6. Tom Morley, Woodland Hills, 20 Laps; 7. Gage Cheek, Valencia, 20 Laps; 8. Brandon Wiley, Santa Maria, 20 Laps; 9. Nick Velasquez, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 10. Tommy Velasquez, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 11. Korey Cowan, Lancaster, 20 Laps; 12. Jeff Brink, Ventura, 20 Laps; 13. April Banuelos, Sylmar, 20 Laps; 14. Lee Majors, Simi Valley, 20 Laps; 15. Tony Pellegrino, Simi Valley, 19 Laps; 16. Zach Curnel, Palmdale, 19 Laps; 17. Shane Linenberger, 0 Laps

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Johnny Conley; Heat 2: Tom Morley; Heat 3: Tommy Velasquez

Top 10 in points: 1. Johnny Conley, 970; 2. Jason Horton, 940; 3. Tommy Velasquez III, 770; 4. Tom Morley, 765; 4. Trent Morley, 765; 6. Gage Cheek, 730; 7. Korey Cowan, 725; 8. Kody Cowan, 650; 9. Tommy Velasquez, 640; 10. Nick Velasquez, 575


IMCA Modifieds
Race #3 06/02/2018

Main Event Results: 1. Donald Houghton, Rosamond, 20 Laps; 2. Luis Espinoza, Castaic, 20 Laps; 3. Dennis Eckert, Canyon Country, 20 Laps; 4. Dave Phipps, Simi Valley, 20 Laps; 5. Austin Rodarte, Ventura, 20 Laps; 6. Andrew Greiman, Newbury Park, 20 Laps; 7. Jack Parker, Simi Valley, 20 Laps; 8. Trevor Fitzgibbon, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 9. Aaron Rodarte, Ventura, 17 Laps

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Dave Phipps; Heat 2: Jack Parker

Top 10 in points: 1. Luis Espinoza, 110; 1. Andrew Greiman, 110; 3. Donald Houghton, 106; 4. Jack Parker, 104; 5. Dave Phipps, 101; 6. Trevor Fitzgibbon, 99; 7. Dennis Eckert, 76; 8. Austin Rodarte, 75; 9. Aaron Rodarte, 70; 10. Brandon Hoekstra, 69


VRA Hobby Stocks
Race #3 06/02/2018

Main Event Results: 1. Gary Rayburn, 12 Laps; 2. Tom Stephens Sr, Ventura, 12 Laps; 3. Mike Stanford, Oxnard, 12 Laps; 4. Heath Morton, Oxnard, 12 Laps

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Gary Rayburn

Top 10 in points: 1. Mike Stanford, 715; 2. Heath Morton, 595; 3. Tom Stephens Sr, 410; 4. Gary Rayburn, 260; 5. Chris Fritz, 235; 6. Ricky Lewis, 225; 7. Ernie Malone, 210; 8. David Bettencourt, 205; 9. Christina Garvin, 195; 9. Sam Garvin, 195


Report Created by Ventura Raceway Scoring Program
Report Created: 06/03/2018 08:57