Brody Roa

Aiden Lange

Johnny Conley

On a cool, breezy Saturday night, May 5th, fans at Ventura Raceway were treated to a great night of short track racing, as the Amsoil USAC/CRA 410 Sprint Cars headlined the show. VRA Dwarf Cars and California Lightning Sprints were also there to complete a full night of exciting racing action.

The Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprints had 22 cars signed into the pits. Qualifying saw Cody Williams set quick time with a lap of 12.272 seconds around the 1/5 mile oval. Brody Roa, R J Johnson, Jake Swanson and Damion Gardner rounded out the top five fast qualifiers. There were three heat races, with wins going to Tom Malcom in heat one, Troy Rutherford in heat two and Ryan Bernal in heat three. All 22 cars were then eligible to start the special 40 lap main event, to celebrate Jim Naylor’s 40th year of racing at Ventura Raceway. The feature was fast and furious from the opening lap that saw Damion Gardner jump out front, closely followed by Brody Roa. These two battled for several laps until Roa took the lead, only to lose it due to a yellow flag incident. After the restart the battle began anew with Roa retaking the lead and going on to take the win. Following Roa across the line were Damion Gardner, Ryan Bernal, Jake Swanson, Cody Williams, Troy Rutherford, R J Johnson, Max Adams, Tom Malcom and A J Bender. In warm up action, Matt McCarthy hit the front straight wall and flipped. He was taken to the hospital for observation complaining of back pain.

California Lightning Sprints had21 cars in the pits all trying to make the 25 lap main event. Fifteen-year-old Aiden Lange took the win over Brent Saxton, Pat Kelly, Jarret Kramer and Cody Nigh. The Lightning Sprints ran three heat races, with wins going to Jeffrey Dyer in heat one, Rob Pelmear in heat two and Pat Kelly in heat three. A special commemorative four car four lap dash was run with the win going to Rob Pelmear.

In VRA Dwarf Car action, 2017 series champ Johnny Conley took his second win of the season over a field of 18 cars. He took the lead on lap one and was never headed in their 20 lap race. He was followed across the line by Jason Horton, Tom Morley, Gage Cheek and Korey Cowan. Three heat races were run with wins going to Jason Horton in heat one, Gage Cheek in heat two and Johnny Conley in heat three. After three races in 2018, Johnny Conley leads Jason Horton by 45 points in the season long point race.

Ventura Raceway is dark next Saturday May 12. We will continue our 2018 season Saturday evening May 19th, with a full program featuring Flat Track Motorcycles, Quads and Speedway Bike racing.

Ventura Raceway Race Results for 05/05/2018

VRA Pro Dwarf Cars
Race #3 05/05/2018

Main Event Results: 1. Johnny Conley, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 2. Jason Horton, Oxnard, 20 Laps; 3. Tom Morley, Woodland Hills, 20 Laps; 4. Gage Cheek, Valencia, 20 Laps; 5. Korey Cowan, Lancaster, 20 Laps; 6. Trent Morley, Woodland Hills, 20 Laps; 7. Brad Curnel, Palmdale, 20 Laps; 8. Jeff Brink, Ventura, 20 Laps; 9. April Banuelos, Sylmar, 20 Laps; 10. Kody Cowan, Lancaster, 20 Laps; 11. Tommy Velasquez, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 12. Zach Curnel, Palmdale, 19 Laps; 13. Tony Pellegrino, Simi Valley, 18 Laps; 14. Tim Morse, Burbank, 13 Laps; 15. Tommy Velasquez III, Camarillo, 11 Laps; 16. Shane Linenberger, 11 Laps; 17. Tim Conley, Oxnard, 1 Lap
Lap Leaders: Johnny Conley (1-20)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Jason Horton; Heat 2: Gage Cheek; Heat 3: Johnny Conley

Top 10 in points: 1. Johnny Conley, 730; 2. Jason Horton, 685; 3. Korey Cowan, 580; 4. Tom Morley, 570; 5. Gage Cheek, 560; 6. Tommy Velasquez III, 555; 6. Trent Morley, 555; 8. Tommy Velasquez, 470; 9. Kody Cowan, 450; 10. April Banuelos, 420


Cal. Lightning Sprints
Race #2 05/05/2018

Main Event Results: 1. Aiden Lange, Lakewood, 25 Laps; 2. Brent Sexton, Lake Side, Ca, 25 Laps; 3. Pat Kelly, Chino, 25 Laps; 4. Jarrett Kramer, Santa Clarita, 25 Laps; 5. Cody Nigh, Camarillo, 25 Laps; 6. Jeffrey Dyer, Victorville, 25 Laps; 7. Kiwi Alexanmder, Visalia, 25 Laps; 8. Robb Pelmear, Ventura, 25 Laps; 9. Dominic Del Monte, Gardena, 25 Laps; 10. Dalton Sexton, Lakeside, 24 Laps; 11. Eric Greco, Palmdale, 24 Laps; 12. Grant Sexton, Lakeside, 24 Laps; 13. Doug Nunes, Kingsburg, 24 Laps; 14. Dale Gamer, Anaheim, 24 Laps; 15. Frank Ditmar, Lakewood, 23 Laps; 16. Wink Schweitzer, Bakersfield, 23 Laps; 17. Donny Martin, Bakersfield, 22 Laps; 18. Bobby Michnowicz, Lomita, 15 Laps; 19. James Turnbull II, Indio, 11 Laps; 20. Jon Robertson, Torrance, 0 Laps

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Jeffrey Dyer; Heat 2: Robb Pelmear; Heat 3: Pat Kelly

Top 10 in points:


USAC-CRA Sprint Cars
Race #1 05/05/2018

Main Event Results: 1. Brody Roa, Buena Park, 40 Laps; 2. Damion Gardner, Concord, 40 Laps; 3. Ryan Bernal, Hollister, 40 Laps; 4. Jake Swanson, Anaheim, 40 Laps; 5. Cody Williams, Yorba Linda, 40 Laps; 6. Troy Rutherford, Ojai, 40 Laps; 7. R.J. Johnson, Phoenix, AZ, 40 Laps; 8. Max Adams, Loomis, 40 Laps; 9. Tom Malcom, 40 Laps; 10. A. J. Bender, San Diego, 40 Laps; 11. Vern Sweeney, 39 Laps; 12. Brent Owens, Covina, 39 Laps; 13. Trent Williams, Hesperia, 39 Laps; 14. Kyle Edwards, Fountain Valley, 39 Laps; 15. Jeff Dyer, 39 Laps; 16. Joel Rayborne, West Covina, 38 Laps; 17. Austin Williams, Yorba Linda, 18 Laps; 18. Rick Hendrix, Palmdale, 18 Laps; 19. Austin Ervine, 18 Laps; 20. Chris Gansen, San Bernardino, 3 Laps; 21. Logan Williams, Yorba Linda, 3 Laps
Lap Leaders: Damion Gardner (1-12), Brody Roa (13-40)