Robert Dalby who is the current points leader, wins another USAC Midget Feature.

Trent Morley inherited the lead on the last lap when first and second got tangled in turn three and when on to win the Dwarf Car Main.

Trevor Fitzgibbon bags another IMCA Modified Main.

Rick Hendrix wins the Senior Sprint Car Main.

On a warm, muggy night, the USAC Midgets made their second appearance at Ventura Raceway Saturday night September 14. Along with VRA Senior Sprints, Dwarf Cars and IMCA Modifieds Classes the fans in attendance were treated to some exciting racing from the opening heat races to the final main events.

Twenty one USAC full midgets were on hand to compete for the second time at Ventura in 2019. Shannon McQueen started the night with a fast time qualifying speed of 12.201 seconds. They ran three heat races which were won by Jake Swanson in heat one, Cody Swanson in heat two and Robert Dalby in heat three. The 30 lap Main Event saw a fast and furious battle between several drivers. As the race progressed the battle came down to a four car battle between eventual winner Robert Dalby, Corey Elliott, Ben Worth and Cody Swanson. Dalby took the lead on lap 10 with an outside pass of early race leader Elliott and went on to lead the remaining 20 laps for the win over Elliott, Ben Worth, Cody Swanson and Kyle Beilman. These cars and drivers will return to Ventura on October 26, as they prepare for the Turkey Night Grand Prix to be held in November.

VRA Pro Dwarf Cars were on hand Saturday night to continue their season. They had 16 cars sign into the pits for their night’s action. They ran three heat races which were won by Jason Horton in heat one, Trent Morley in heat two and Nick Velasaquez in heat three. They then ran their 20 lap main event which went to Trent Morley after a turn three incident took out leader Tommy Velasquez. Velasquez and second place runner Gage Cheek got together in turn three coming to the checkered flag. After a restart, Morley led the field to the checker followed by Jason Horton, Jeff Brink, Nick Velasquez and Johnny Conley. After twelve races in 2019, Jason Horton leads Trent Morley by 65 points.

The IMCA Modifieds ran their eleventh race of the season with nine cars in attendance. Heat race wins went to Terry Hershberger and Trevor Fitzgibbon. The 20 lap main event was an exciting race that saw Andrew Greiman lead laps one to three only to be passed by Trevor Fitzgibbon on lap four. Fitzgibbon then led the field to the finish. Following Fitzgibbon to the line were Jack Parker, Austin Rodarte, Dave Phipps and Andrew Greiman. Jack Parker now leads Terry Hershberger by 8 points.

VRA Senior Sprints were in action Saturday with a small field of six cars. The heat race went to Wally Pankratz. Their 20 lap feature went to Rick Hendrix over Tyler Hatziakian, Mike Cook, Paul Mirick ,Wally Pankratz and Chris Meredith. After eleven races season point leader Wally Pankratz holds a 20 point lead over Chris Meredith..

Ventura Raceway returns to action Saturday night September 21, with a full program featuring VRA Sprint Cars, Dwarf Cars, IMCA Modifieds, Hobby Stocks and a wild and crazy Demolition Derby.

Ventura Raceway Race Results for 09/14/2019

USAC Midget
Race #2 09/14/2019

Main Event Results: 1. Robert Dalby, Anaheim, 30 Laps; 2. Cory Elliott, Bakersfield, 30 Laps; 3. Ben Worth, Coalinga, 30 Laps; 4. Cody Swanson, Norco, 30 Laps; 5. Kyle Beilman, Mar Vista, 30 Laps; 6. Jonathan Henry, 30 Laps; 7. Robbie Josett, Santa Clarita, 30 Laps; 8. Anthony Lopicollo, Fresno, 30 Laps; 9. Randi Pankratz, Atascadero, 30 Laps; 10. C.J. Sarna, Palm Desert, 30 Laps; 11. Jake Swanson, Anaheim, 30 Laps; 12. Dylan Ito, Ventura, 30 Laps; 13. Josh Lakatos, Pasadena, 30 Laps; 14. Ron Hazelton, Chatsworth, 30 Laps; 15. Mike Leach Jr., Orange, 30 Laps; 16. Bryan Drollinger, San Pedro, 29 Laps; 17. Tyler Slay, Watsonville, 26 Laps; 18. David Prickett, Fresno, 18 Laps; 19. Marvin Mitchell, Madera, 10 Laps; 20. Shannon McQueen, Tehachapi, 0 Laps
Lap Leaders: Cory Elliott (1-9), Robert Dalby (10-30)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Jake Swanson; Heat 2: Cody Swanson; Heat 3: Robert Dalby

Ventura Raceway does not calculate points for this class


VRA Pro Dwarf Cars
Race #12 09/14/2019

Main Event Results: 1. Trent Morley, Woodland Hills, 20 Laps; 2. Jason Horton, Oxnard, 20 Laps; 3. Jeff Brink, Ventura, 20 Laps; 4. Nick Velasquez, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 5. Johnny Conley, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 6. Brad Curnel, Palmdale, 20 Laps; 7. Tom Morley, Woodland Hills, 20 Laps; 8. Tommy Velasquez III, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 9. Gage Cheek, Valencia, 19 Laps; 10. Tim Morse, Burbank, 19 Laps; 11. Tony Margott, Simi Valley, 19 Laps; 12. Tony Pellegrino, Simi Valley, 19 Laps; 13. Tommy Velasquez, Camarillo, 19 Laps; 14. Cameron Russell, Simi Valley, 18 Laps; 15. Tim Conley, Oxnard, 17 Laps; 16. Bill Vint Jr., 5 Laps
Lap Leaders: Tommy Velasquez III (1-19), Trent Morley (20)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Jason Horton; Heat 2: Trent Morley; Heat 3: Nick Velasquez

Top 10 in points: 1. Jason Horton, 2645; 2. Trent Morley, 2580; 3. Nick Velasquez, 2465; 4. Tommy Velasquez III, 2450; 5. Tom Morley, 2225; 6. Jeff Brink, 1910; 7. Brad Curnel, 1895; 8. Tommy Velasquez, 1740; 9. Tony Margott, 1615; 10. Tim Conley, 1520


VRA Senior Sprints
Race #11 09/14/2019

Main Event Results: 1. Rick Hendrix, Palmdale, 20 Laps; 2. Tyler Hatzikian, El Segundo, 20 Laps; 3. Mike Cook, Long Beach, 20 Laps; 4. Paul Mircik, 19 Laps; 5. Wally Pankratz, Orange, 19 Laps; 6. Chris Meredith, Thousand Oaks, 19 Laps
Lap Leaders: Wally Pankratz (1-19), Rick Hendrix (20)

Heat Race Winners: SpinTech Mufflers Heat 1: Wally Pankratz

Top 10 in points: 1. Wally Pankratz, 2540; 2. Chris Meredith, 2520; 3. Bruce Douglass, 1230; 4. Paul Mircik, 1065; 5. Greg Andrews, 950; 6. Mark Sheppard, 880; 7. Tyler Hatzikian, 815; 7. Danny Parrish, 815; 9. Rick Hendrix, 715; 10. Mike Cook, 625


IMCA Modifieds
Race #11 09/14/2019

Main Event Results: 1. Trevor Fitzgibbon, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 2. Jack Parker, Simi Valley, 20 Laps; 3. Austin Rodarte, Ventura, 20 Laps; 4. Dave Phipps, Simi Valley, 20 Laps; 5. Andrew Greiman, Newbury Park, 20 Laps; 6. Dave Clark, Riverside, 20 Laps; 7. Terry Hershberger, Corona, 20 Laps; 8. Sam Garvin, Oxnard, 7 Laps; 9. Mark Joe, Santa Paula, 5 Laps
Lap Leaders: Andrew Greiman (1-3), Trevor Fitzgibbon (4-20)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Terry Hershberger; Heat 2: Trevor Fitzgibbon

Top 10 in points: 1. Jack Parker, 392; 2. Terry Hershberger, 384; 3. Trevor Fitzgibbon, 379; 4. Andrew Greiman, 349; 5. Scott Olsen, 323; 6. Kevin Hocking, 302; 7. Dave Phipps, 287; 8. Austin Grabowski, 177; 9. Dennis Eckert, 154; 10. Sam Garvin, 150


Report Created by Ventura Raceway Scoring Program
Report Created: 09/15/2019 09:17