Corey Furr wins the Demolition Derby defeating fourteen other entries.

Rick Hendrix wins the VRA Sprint Car Feature and becomes the 2019 Champion.

Johnny Conley wins another Dwarf Car Main.

Austin Grabowski wins his first ever dirt IMCA Modified Main.

Alyssa Smith wins another Hobby Stock Main.

Saturday night September 21, saw an evening of exciting open wheel and stock car racing along with a fifteen car Demolition Derby. A full house of racing and derby fans saw drivers in the four car classes on hand continue the season long point battle in each class. Fans in attendance also witnessed exciting Demolition Derby action with a full field of fifteen cars crashing and bashing on the raceways clay oval.

VRA Sprint Cars had a small car count of four cars on hand Saturday night. They ran one heat race with the win going to Rick Hendrix. The 20 lap main event also went to season point leader Rick Hendrix over James Herrera, Chris Meredith and Nick Diani. After 14 races, Rick Hendrix has clinched the 2019 season championship.

IMCA Modifieds were back for another round of competition with 14 cars signed into the pits. They ran two heat races, with wins going to Austin Grawbowski and Trevor Fitzgibbon. The 20 lap main event Austin Grawbowski lead all twenty laps to take his first Ventura win. Following Grabowski across the line were Dennis Eckert, Trevor Fitzgibbon, Donald Houghton and Terry Hershberger. With only one race remaining in the 2019 IMCA season, Jack Parker leads Terry Hershberger by seven points.

VRA Pro Dwarf Cars continued their season with eight cars signing into the pits. They ran two heat races with wins going to Jason Horton and Brad Curnel. The main event saw past VRA champion Johnny Conley take the 20 lap feature. He led Jeff Brink, Jason Horton, Trent Morley and Gage Cheek to the finish line. Jason Horton now leads Trent Morley by 85 points in the series after 13 races.

VRA Hobby Stocks was the final car class racing Saturday night. Eight cars signed into the pits. They then ran two heat races, with the wins going to Ryan Changus and Alyssa Smith. Their 20 lap main event went multi time Ventura winner Alyssa Smith. She was followed to the line by Jeff Houghton, Joel Chavez Jr., Ryan Changus and Mike Stanford, After 11 races in 2019, Ricky Lewis leads Tom Stephens Jr., by 25 points
The final event of the night was a Demolition Derby featuring fifteen cars. The packed grandstands were thrilled as the cars crashed and bashed for a total of fifteen minutes with Corey Furr coming out the victor over Mike Stanford, Scott Dudley, Scott Ohnemus, and James Muldoon.

Ventura Raceway returns to action on Saturday September 28, a full program of VRA Sprints, Senior Sprints, Dwarf Cars, IMCA Modifieds and WMR Midgets.

Ventura Raceway Race Results for 09/21/2019

VRA Sprint Cars
Race #14 09/21/2019

Main Event Results: 1. Rick Hendrix, Palmdale, 20 Laps; 2. James Herrera, New Cuyama, 20 Laps; 3. Chris Meredith, Thousand Oaks, 20 Laps; 4. Nick Diani, Santa Maria, 20 Laps
Lap Leaders: Chris Meredith (1-14), Chris Meredith (15-17), Rick Hendrix (18-20)

Heat Race Winners: Extreme Mufflers Heat 1: Rick Hendrix

Top 10 in points: 1. Rick Hendrix, 3060; 2. Charlie Butcher, 1675; 3. Chris Meredith, 910; 4. Kyle Smith, 900; 5. Gage Rucker, 700; 6. Joey Bishop, 655; 7. Brent Owens, 575; 8. Kenny Perkins, 535; 9. Ricky Lewis, 510; 10. Tyler Edwards, 460


VRA Pro Dwarf Cars
Race #13 09/21/2019

Main Event Results: 1. Johnny Conley, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 2. Jeff Brink, Ventura, 20 Laps; 3. Jason Horton, Oxnard, 20 Laps; 4. Trent Morley, Woodland Hills, 20 Laps; 5. Gage Cheek, Valencia, 20 Laps; 6. Tom Morley, Woodland Hills, 20 Laps; 7. Brad Curnel, Palmdale, 20 Laps; 8. Ricky Lewis, Camarillo, 12 Laps
Lap Leaders: Jeff Brink (1-3), Jason Horton (4-12), Johnny Conley (13-20)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Jason Horton; Heat 2: Brad Curnel

Top 10 in points: 1. Jason Horton, 2870; 2. Trent Morley, 2785; 3. Nick Velasquez, 2465; 4. Tommy Velasquez III, 2450; 5. Tom Morley, 2410; 6. Jeff Brink, 2145; 7. Brad Curnel, 2080; 8. Johnny Conley, 1745; 9. Tommy Velasquez, 1740; 10. Tony Margott, 1615


IMCA Modifieds
Race #12 09/21/2019

Main Event Results: 1. Austin Grabowski, Riverside, 20 Laps; 2. Dennis Eckert, Canyon Country, 20 Laps; 3. Trevor Fitzgibbon, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 4. Donald Houghton, Rosamond, 20 Laps; 5. Terry Hershberger, Corona, 20 Laps; 6. Jack Parker, Simi Valley, 20 Laps; 7. Kevin Hocking, Hungiton Beach, 20 Laps; 8. Andrew Greiman, Newbury Park, 20 Laps; 9. Scott Olsen, Ventura, 20 Laps; 10. Mark Joe, Santa Paula, 10 Laps; 11. Jake Pike, Purump, 9 Laps; 12. Sam Garvin, Oxnard, 0 Laps; 13. Dave Phipps, Simi Valley, 0 Laps; 14. Brad Prows, Buellton, 0 Laps
Lap Leaders: Austin Grabowski (1-20)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Austin Grabowski; Heat 2: Trevor Fitzgibbon

Top 10 in points: 1. Jack Parker, 427; 2. Terry Hershberger, 420; 3. Trevor Fitzgibbon, 417; 4. Andrew Greiman, 382; 5. Scott Olsen, 355; 6. Kevin Hocking, 336; 7. Dave Phipps, 315; 8. Austin Grabowski, 217; 9. Dennis Eckert, 193; 10. Donald Houghton, 185


VRA Hobby Stocks
Race #11 09/21/2019

Main Event Results: 1. Alyssa Smith, Norco, 20 Laps; 2. Jeff Houghton, Rosamund, 20 Laps; 3. Joel Chavez Jr., Santa Paula, 20 Laps; 4. Ryan Changus, Fillmore, 19 Laps; 5. Mike Stanford, Oxnard, 19 Laps; 6. Sam Garvin, Oxnard, 4 Laps; 7. Ricky Lewis, Camarillo, 3 Laps; 8. Tom Stephens Jr, Ventura, 0 Laps
Lap Leaders: Ryan Changus (1-2), Alyssa Smith (3-20)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Ryan Changus; Heat 2: Alyssa Smith

Top 10 in points: 1. Ricky Lewis, 1925; 2. Tom Stephens Jr, 1900; 3. Alyssa Smith, 1755; 4. Ryan Changus, 1415; 5. Jeff Houghton, 1030; 6. Mike Stanford, 860; 7. Gary Garvin, 580; 8. Chris Whitford, 490; 9. Ricky Roberts, 345; 10. Justin Gonzalez, 250


Report Created by Ventura Raceway Scoring Program
Report Created: 09/21/2019 21:08