Tristan Guardino wins the first ARP Battle at the Beach for the 2019 season.

Chris Meredith, the 2018 Senior Sprint Car Champion, starts the season with a Feature win.

Jason Horton starts the season with two wins in a row.

Jarrett Kramer, the 2018 Champ, takes the California Lightning Main.

Ventura Raceway continued its new 2019 season on a cool overcast night with the running of the first USAC/VRA ARP Battle at the Beach race for 360 Sprint Cars, Saturday night March 23rd. Four classes were on hand to put on an exciting night of racing for the fans in attendance.

Nineteen USAC/VRA Sprint Cars signed into the pits. The night began with single car qualifying for the 360 sprints. Tristan Guardino took the pole with a new track record of 11.958 seconds around Ventura’s 1/5 mile oval. They then ran three heat races with wins going to Carson Macedo in heat one, Ryan Timmons in heat two and Cody Majors in heat three. The 30 lap ARP Battle at the Beach feature event went to Guardino, who started sixth and worked his way to the lead to pass Jake Swanson on lap 7. He then led to the checkered flag to claim the special Battle at the Beach trophy, the $1,500 winner’s check and take the lead in the season long battle to be crowned King of the Beach in November at the Turkey Night Grand Prix. Guradino’s win also keeps him in the lead in the USAC Western 360 series. Following Guardino to the finish were Jake Swanson, Troy Rutherford, Carson Macedo and Cody Majors.

VRA Pro Dwarf Cars continued their season, with 17 cars signed into the pits. They ran three heat races with wins going to 2018 series champion Johnny Conley in heat one, Tommy Velasquez III in heat two and Trent Morley in heat three. Jason Horton took the 20 lap feature, for his second win in a row for this season. He took the lead from his pole position start and led all 20 laps to take the win over Tommy Velasquez III, Tom Morley, Nick Velasquez and Michael Tobiason. 2018 champion Johnny Conley got off to a tough start, in his first main event of the season, with a hard flip in turn two on lap 10. After two races in the 2019 season, Horton leads Tommy Velasquez III by 40 points.

The popular California Lightning Sprints were also on hand Saturday night. A record 27 cars were on hand to run three heats, a semi main and a 20 lap feature. The heat race wins went to A. J. Bender, who’s 11.992 qualifying time was faster than the USAC 360 track record time. Heat two went to Bobby Michnowicz. Heat three went to Kyle Dodd. With the large car count, a 10 lap semi main was run to set the starting field for their 20 lap main event. Aiden Lange took the win in the event followed by James Turnbell and Grant Sexton. The 20 lap main was a very fast race that saw race leaders Dan Hillburg and Dominic Del Monte get together in turn two of the final lap allowing Jarrett Kramer to take the win. Following Kramer to the line were Eric Greco, Cody Nigh, Jeff Dyer and Bobby Michnowicz.

VRA Senior Sprints opened their 2019 season with 8 cars in attendance. Past champion, Chris Meredith, took the win in their 20 lap main event over Wally Pankratz, Danny Parrish, Tyler Hatzikian and Tom Stevens Sr. They ran two heat races with wins going to Wally Pankratz in heat one and Danny Parrish in heat two.

Ventura Raceway will be dark the next two weeks, returning to action on Saturday April 13, with a full program of exciting racing featuring VRA Sprints, Senior Sprints, Dwarf Cars, IMCA Modifieds, Hobby Stocks and Focus Midgets.

Ventura Raceway Race Results for 03/23/2019

VRA Sprint Cars
Race #2 03/23/2019

Main Event Results:

Heat Race Winners:

Top 10 in points: 1. Kyle Smith, 260; 2. Charlie Butcher, 225; 3. Rick Hendrix, 220; 4. Tyler Hatzikian, 205; 4. Danny Parrish, 205; 6. Tyler Williams, 175; 7. Gage Rucker, 170; 7. Chris Meredith, 170; 9. Kenny Perkins, 165; 10. Dillon Osborne, 155


ARP Battle at the Beach
Race #1 03/23/2019

Main Event Results: 1. Tristan Guardino, Fremont, CA, 30 Laps; 2. Jake Swanson, Anaheim, 30 Laps; 3. Troy Rutherford, Ojai, 30 Laps; 4. Carson Macedo, Lemoore, 30 Laps; 5. Cody Majors, Simi Valley, 30 Laps; 6. Kyle Edwards, Fountain Valley, 30 Laps; 7. Ryan Timmons, Pleasant Hill, 30 Laps; 8. Slater Helt, Harrisonville, MO, 30 Laps; 9. Steve Hix, Ventura, 30 Laps; 10. Jeff Fillingame, Santa Paula, 30 Laps; 11. Koen Shaw, Fresno, CA, 30 Laps; 12. Charlie Butcher, Santa Barbara, 29 Laps; 13. Rick Hendrix, Palmdale, 29 Laps; 14. Darren Vanderly, Alabama, 29 Laps; 15. Tom Hendricks, Simi Valley, 29 Laps; 16. Tyler Williams, Suwanee, Georgia, 29 Laps; 17. Gage Rucker, 21 Laps; 18. Austin Ervine, 1 Lap; 19. J. J. Ringo, Morgan Hill, 1 Lap
Lap Leaders: Cody Majors (1-5), Jake Swanson (6), Tristan Guardino (7-30)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Carson Macedo; Heat 2: Ryan Timmons; Heat 3: Cody Majors

Top 10 in points: 1. Tristan Guardino, 245; 2. Jake Swanson, 235; 3. Carson Macedo, 215; 4. Troy Rutherford, 210; 5. Cody Majors, 205; 6. Ryan Timmons, 185; 6. Kyle Edwards, 185; 8. Slater Helt, 170; 9. Koen Shaw, 160; 10. Jeff Fillingame, 155; 10. Steve Hix, 155


VRA Pro Dwarf Cars
Race #2 03/23/2019

Main Event Results: 1. Jason Horton, Oxnard, 20 Laps; 2. Tommy Velasquez III, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 3. Tom Morley, Woodland Hills, 20 Laps; 4. Nick Velasquez, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 5. Michael Tobiason, San Diego, 20 Laps; 6. Jeff Brink, Ventura, 20 Laps; 7. Tony Margott, Semi Valley, 20 Laps; 8. Korey Cowan, Lancaster, 13 Laps; 9. Johnny Conley, Camarillo, 10 Laps; 10. Trent Morley, Woodland Hills, 9 Laps; 11. Brad Curnel, Palmdale, 6 Laps; 12. Tim Morse, Burbank, 6 Laps; 13. Zach Curnel, Palmdale, 6 Laps; 14. Kody Cowan, Lancaster, 3 Laps; 15. Bill Vint Jr., 3 Laps; 16. Tommy Velasquez, Camarillo, 2 Laps; 17. Shane Linenberger, Did not start
Lap Leaders: Jason Horton (1-20)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Johnny Conley; Heat 2: Tommy Velasquez III; Heat 3: Trent Morley

Top 10 in points: 1. Jason Horton, 515; 2. Tommy Velasquez III, 475; 3. Nick Velasquez, 410; 4. Tom Morley, 380; 5. Jeff Brink, 340; 6. Korey Cowan, 330; 7. Brad Curnel, 320; 7. Tommy Velasquez, 320; 9. Trent Morley, 315; 9. Tony Margott, 315


VRA Senior Sprints
Race #1 03/23/2019

Main Event Results: 1. Chris Meredith, Thousand Oaks, 20 Laps; 2. Wally Pankratz, Orange, 20 Laps; 3. Danny Parrish, Anchorage, Alaska, 20 Laps; 4. Tyler Hatzikian, El Segundo, 20 Laps; 5. Tom Stephens Sr, Ventura, 20 Laps; 6. Greg Andrews, Fillmore, Ca, 20 Laps; 7. Paul Mircik, 20 Laps; 8. Mark Shepard, 19 Laps
Lap Leaders: Greg Andrews (1-9), Chris Meredith (10-20)

Heat Race Winners: SpinTech Mufflers Heat 1: Wally Pankratz; Saldana Racing Products Heat 2: Danny Parrish

Top 10 in points: 1. Chris Meredith, 255; 2. Wally Pankratz, 240; 3. Danny Parrish, 225; 4. Tyler Hatzikian, 205; 5. Tom Stephens Sr, 190; 5. Greg Andrews, 190; 7. Paul Mircik, 175; 8. Mark Shepard, 165


Cal. Lightning Sprints
Race #1 03/23/2019

Main Event Results: 1. Jarrett Kramer, Santa Clarita, 20 Laps; 2. Eric Greco, Palmdale, 20 Laps; 3. Cody Nigh, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 4. Jeff Dyer, 20 Laps; 5. Bobby Michnowicz, Lomita, 20 Laps; 6. A. J. Bender, San Diego, 20 Laps; 7. Grant Sexton, Lakeside, 20 Laps; 8. Bruce Douglass, Ventura, 20 Laps; 9. James Turnbull, Indio, 20 Laps; 10. Pat Kelly, Chino, 20 Laps; 11. Dalton Sexton, Lakeside, 20 Laps; 12. Aiden Lange, Lakewood, 20 Laps; 13. Gage Cheek, Valencia, 20 Laps; 14. Dale Gamer, Anaheim, 20 Laps; 15. Frank Ditmar, Lakewood, 20 Laps; 16. Dan Hillberg, Placentia, 18 Laps; 17. Dominic Del Monte, Gardena, 18 Laps; 18. Kyle Dodd, Ramona, 18 Laps; 19. Doug Nunes, Kingsburg, 6 Laps; 20. Jonathon Conley, Camarillo, 6 Laps
Lap Leaders: Dan Hillberg (1-18), Jarrett Kramer (19-20)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: A. J. Bender; Heat 2: Bobby Michnowicz; Heat 3: Kyle Dodd

Top 10 in points:


Report Created by Ventura Raceway Scoring Program
Report Created: 03/24/2019 13:46