Kyle Smith wins another VRA Sprint Car Feature.

Aiden Lange wins his second California Lightning Sprint Main at Ventura this season.

Johnny Conley wins another VRA Dwarf Car Main.

Keoni Texeira wins his first Focus Midget Main.

Saturday night, July 7th, saw a full program of exciting short track racing at Ventura Raceway on a warm evening at the track. The fans in attendance saw close, hard fought competition all night long from the opening heats to the final main events. VRA Sprint Cars, VRA Dwarf Cars, VRA Focus Midgets and California Lightning Sprints were on hand for a night of very competitive racing action.

Seven VRA Sprints were on hand Saturday night to continue their 2018 season. One heat race was run with the win going to Rick Hendrix. They then ran their 20 lap main event with the win going to 2017 series champion and current point leader Kyle Smith. Jeremy Ellertson finished second with Brent Owens third, Hobie Conway fourth and Chris Meredith fifth. After five races in 2018, Kyle Smith leads Jeremy Ellertson by 110 points in the season long point race.

In VRA Dwarf Car action, point leader Johnny Conley took the win over a field of 10
dwarf cars. In a hotly contested race, Conley took the win over Tommy Velasquez III, Jason Horton, Nick Velasquez and Jeff Brink. Two heat races were run with wins going to Tommy Velasquez III in heat one and Nick Velasquez in heat two. The race saw Jason Horton lead laps 1-10 with Conley leading laps 11-20. After six races point leader Johnny Conley leads Jason Horton by 45 points.

22 California Lightning Sprints were on hand. These winged warriors always thrill the crowd with fast racing. Saturday night was no exception as they ran three heat races with wins going to Pat Kelly in heat one, James Turnbell II in heat two and Aiden Lange in heat three. The 25 lap main event was another fast and furious event, which went to Aiden Lange over Jarrett Kramer, Dan Hillberg, Dominic Del Monte and Cody Nigh.

A short field of five of VRA Focus Midgets took to the track for their fourth race of the season. They ran one heat race with the win going Keoni Texeira. Their 20 lap main event went to Texeira as well, followed by Randi Pankratz, Mike Leach, Chris Tramel and Jessica Valentine.

Ventura Raceway returns to action on Saturday, July 14th, with the second ARP USAC/ VRA Battle at the Beach for 360 Sprint Cars. Also on the schedule that night will be VRA Hobby Stocks, VRA Senior Sprints and IMCA Modifieds. For any information on upcoming events, please check out our website at, our Facebook page or call (805) 648-7223. Turkey Night Grand Prix tickets are now on sale also. Hope to see you there!

Ventura Raceway Race Results for 07/07/2018

VRA Sprint Cars
Race #5 07/07/2018

Main Event Results: 1. Kyle Smith, Moorpark, 20 Laps; 2. Jeremy Ellertson, Lawndale, 20 Laps; 3. Brent Owens, Covina, 20 Laps; 4. Hobie Conway, Ventura, 20 Laps; 5. Chris Meredith, Thousand Oaks, 20 Laps; 6. Rick Hendrix, Palmdale, 20 Laps; 7. Greg Andrews, Fillmore, Ca, 16 Laps
Lap Leaders: Jeremy Ellertson (1), Brent Owens (2-12), Kyle Smith (13-20)

Heat Race Winners: Extreme Mufflers Heat 1: Rick Hendrix

Top 10 in points: 1. Kyle Smith, 955; 2. Jeremy Ellertson, 845; 3. Rick Hendrix, 500; 4. Charlie Butcher, 485; 5. Joey Bishop, 430; 6. Tom Hendricks, 305; 7. Ryan Stolz, 295; 8. Kyle Edwards, 275; 9. Brandon Wiley, 270; 10. Brody Roa, 260


VRA Pro Dwarf Cars
Race #6 07/07/2018

Main Event Results: 1. Johnny Conley, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 2. Tommy Velasquez III, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 3. Jason Horton, Oxnard, 20 Laps; 4. Nick Velasquez, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 5. Jeff Brink, Ventura, 20 Laps; 6. Tommy Velasquez, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 7. Mike Long, Thousand Oaks, 20 Laps; 8. Tony Pellegrino, Simi Valley, 19 Laps; 9. John Nock, Newhall, 2 Laps; 10. Shane Linenberger, 0 Laps
Lap Leaders: Jason Horton (1-10), Johnny Conley (11-20)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Tommy Velasquez III; Heat 2: Nick Velasquez

Top 10 in points: 1. Johnny Conley, 1440; 2. Jason Horton, 1395; 3. Tommy Velasquez III, 1255; 4. Nick Velasquez, 985; 5. Tommy Velasquez, 980; 6. Trent Morley, 935; 6. Tom Morley, 935; 8. Korey Cowan, 905; 9. Kody Cowan, 810; 9. Tony Pellegrino, 810


Cal. Lightning Sprints
Race #3 07/07/2018

Main Event Results: 1. Aiden Lange, Lakewood, 25 Laps; 2. Jarrett Kramer, Santa Clarita, 25 Laps; 3. Dan Hillberg, Placentia, 25 Laps; 4. Dominic Del Monte, Gardena, 25 Laps; 5. Cody Nigh, Camarillo, 25 Laps; 6. Eric Greco, Palmdale, 25 Laps; 7. Grant Sexton, Lakeside, 25 Laps; 8. Bruce Douglass, Ventura, 25 Laps; 9. Dale Gamer, Anaheim, 25 Laps; 10. Frank Ditmar, Lakewood, 25 Laps; 11. Dalton Sexton, Lakeside, 24 Laps; 12. James Squire III, Lakerside, 23 Laps; 13. Robb Pelmear, Ventura, 22 Laps; 14. Pat Kelly, Chino, 20 Laps; 15. Jeffrey Dyer, Victorville, 20 Laps; 16. Jon Robertson, Torrance, 20 Laps; 17. James Turnbull II, Indio, 11 Laps; 18. Bobby Michnowicz, Lomita, 10 Laps; 19. Brent Sexton, Lake Side, Ca, 10 Laps; 20. Wink Schweitzer, Bakersfield, 9 Laps; 21. Jon Squire, Lakeside, Did not start
Lap Leaders: Aiden Lange (1-25)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Pat Kelly; Heat 2: James Turnbull II; Heat 3: Aiden Lange

Top 10 in points:


Focus Midgets
Race #4 07/07/2018

Main Event Results: 1. Keoni Texeira, Honalulu, HI, 20 Laps; 2. Randi Pankratz, Atascadero, 20 Laps; 3. Mike Leach, Foothill Ranch, 20 Laps; 4. Chris Tramel, San Diego, 20 Laps; 5. Jessica Valentine, Cupo Beach, 20 Laps
Lap Leaders: Keoni Texeira (1-20)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Jessica Valentine

Top 10 in points: 1. Mike Leach, 910; 2. Keoni Texeira, 675; 3. Randi Pankratz, 665; 4. Phil Schack, 600; 5. Jet Davison, 435; 6. Chris Tramel, 425; 7. Jessica Valentine, 365; 8. Tim Foy, 340; 9. Gage Rucker, 325; 10. Charlie Butcher, 220


Report Created by Ventura Raceway Scoring Program
Report Created: 07/08/2018 07:49