Kyle Smith takes the ARP cash & the Battle at the Beach trophy.

Kyle and father Mike celebrate with family and friends their Battle at the Beach victory. Let’s not forget Brudder Brett.

Ed Schwartz wins the senior main by less than a blink of an eye over points leader Chris Meredith.The last lap battle between them was some of the best racing seen all year.

With this win Johnny Conley has five feature victories this season.

Aaron Rodarte makes it number two for the season with his IMCA Modified win.

Saturday night June 4, saw a great night of short track racing, as Ventura Raceway continued its 2016 season.  With the first 2016 Battle at the Beach highlighting the night, race fans were there to see who would take the first win in this series within a series that will crown the King of the Beach in November.  Competition in every class was very close and hard fought and the night featured one of the closest finishes ever at Ventura Raceway.

In VRA 360 Sprints,  a small field of 10 cars signed into the pits for the first Battle at the Beach for 2016.  The night saw 2014 VRA Sprint Car series champion Kyle Smith finally take the win in  this series within a series and take the winner’s check of $1,500, the Battle at the Beach point lead and the very special Battle at the Beach trophy.  It was a night that saw exciting racing, despite the smaller than normal car count, as Brody Roa was coming through the field in an attempt to catch Smith.  In the end it was Smith over Roa, Brandon Thomson, up and coming driver, Austen Figueroa and Tristan Guardino. Their two heat race wins went to Brody Roa and Rick Hendrix.  Hendrix now is leading in the point race by 70 points over Guy Woodward, who went out in a lap one crash, and 250 points over Austin Figueroa after seven races.

VRA Dwarf Cars returned to action Saturday with past champ Johnny Conley leading 13 of the 20 lap main to take his fifth win of 2016. Conley’s win was over  his dad David Conley, Trenton Morley, Jason Horton and Mike Neal.  Their four heat races went to Tim Conley, Jeff Fillingame, Brandon Busenbar and Trenton Morley.  There were 25 dwarf cars signed in for the night’s action.  The 12 lap semi main win went to Jeff Hinz.  Seven races into the season finds Johnny Conley leading Jeff Fillingame by 35 points with Tim Conley 130 points behind Johnny.

IMCA Modified action saw Aaron Rodarte beat Chris Crompe and his brother Austin to the line to take the 20 lap feature win.    Following Aaron Rodarte, Chris Crompe  and Austin Rodarte to the finish line were Jack Parker and Dennis Eckert. There was one heat race run, with win going to Aaron Rodarte.   Austin Rodarte now leads Jack Parker by 13 points after seven races in 2016.      .

The final group racing Saturday night was the VRA Senior Sprints.  In one of the closest ever race finishes in Ventura history, Ed Schwarz took the win over point leader Chris Meredith by 24/100 of a second in a photo finish.  following Schwarz and Meredith were
Steve Brown, Clif Warren and Smokey Stover.  Two heat races were run with wins going to Wally Pankratz and Steve Brown.  After five races Chris Meredith leads Steve Brown by 70 points.

Ventura Raceway continues its 2016 season next Saturday June 11, with VRA Sprints, Dwarf Cars, IMCA Modifieds, Hobby Stocks, Focus Midgets and Go Karts

Ventura Raceway Race Results for 06/04/2016

VRA Sprint Cars
Race #7     06/04/2016

Main Event Results: 1. Kyle Smith, Moorpark, 30 Laps; 2. Brody Roa, Buena Park, 30 Laps; 3. Brandon Thomson, Ventura, 30 Laps; 4. Austen Figueroa, El Segundo, 30 Laps; 5. Tristan Guardino, Fremont, CA, 29 Laps; 6. Clif Warren, Camarillo, 29 Laps; 7. Rick Hendrix, Palmdale, 29 Laps; 8. Wally Pankratz, Orange, 29 Laps; 9. Ed Schwarz, Santa Fe Springs, 7 Laps; 10. Guy Woodward, Santa Clarita, 2 Laps

Heat Race Winners:  Extreme Mufflers Heat 1: Brody Roa; Saldana Racing Products Heat 2: Rick Hendrix

Top 10 in points:  1. Rick Hendrix, 1260; 2. Guy Woodward, 1190; 3. Austen Figueroa, 1010; 4. Tommy Dunkel, 765; 5. Tyler Williams, 735; 6. Jeremy Ellertson, 725; 7. Kyle Smith, 700; 8. Chris Meredith, 685; 9. Charlie Butcher, 660; 10. Hobie Conway, 590


VRA Senior Sprints
Race #5     06/04/2016

Main Event Results: 1. Ed Schwarz, Santa Fe Springs, 20 Laps; 2. Chris Meredith, Thousand Oaks, 20 Laps; 3. Steve Brown, Ontario, Ca, 20 Laps; 4. Clif Warren, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 5. Smokey Stover, Manhattan Beach, 20 Laps; 6. Wally Pankratz, Orange, 20 Laps; 7. Greg Andrews, Fillmore, Ca, 20 Laps; 8. Russell Martin, Yorba Linda, 19 Laps; 9. Richard Fajardo, Hollister, 18 Laps; 10. Ron Bach, Santa Paula, 14 Laps; 11. Russel Deblauw, Ventura, 12 Laps; 12. Joe Bishop, Camarillo, 0 Laps
Lap Leaders: Chris Meredith (1-16)

Heat Race Winners:  SpinTech Mufflers Heat 1: Wally Pankratz; Saldana Racing Products Heat 2: Steve Brown

Top 10 in points:  1. Chris Meredith, 730; 2. Steve Brown, 660; 3. Clif Warren, 650; 4. Ed Schwarz, 595; 5. Ron Bach, 490; 6. Richard Fajardo, 480; 7. Joe Bishop, 425; 7. Russell Martin, 425; 9. Wally Pankratz, 355; 10. Will Perkins, 350


VRA Pro Dwarf Cars
Race #7     06/04/2016

Main Event Results: 1. Johnny Conley, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 2. David Conley, Oxnard, 20 Laps; 3. Trent Morley, Woodland Hills, 20 Laps; 4. Jason Horton, Oxnard, 20 Laps; 5. Mike Neal, Northridge, 20 Laps; 6. Brandon Wiley, Santa Maria, 20 Laps; 7. Ricky Lewis, Oxnard, 20 Laps; 8. Brandon Busenbark, Santa Clarita, 20 Laps; 9. Gage Cheek, Valencia, 20 Laps; 10. Mike Keebler, Lompoc, 20 Laps; 11. Nick Velasquez, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 12. Tim Conley, Oxnard, 20 Laps; 13. Tommy Velasquez III, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 14. Mike Smith, Santa Maria, 20 Laps; 15. Chase Lippert, Thousand Oaks, 20 Laps; 16. Jeff Hinz, Saugus, 19 Laps; 17. Kody Cowan, Lancaster, 19 Laps; 18. Jeff Fillingame, Santa Paula, 4 Laps
Lap Leaders: David Conley (1-6), Johnny Conley (7-20)

Heat Race Winners:  Heat 1: Tim Conley; Heat 2: Jeff Fillingame; Heat 3: Brandon Busenbark; Heat 4: Trent Morley

Top 10 in points:  1. Johnny Conley, 1450; 2. Jeff Fillingame, 1415; 3. Tim Conley, 1320; 4. Trent Morley, 1215; 4. Tommy Velasquez III, 1215; 6. David Conley, 1165; 7. Nick Velasquez, 1140; 8. Tom Stephens Jr, 1110; 9. Gage Cheek, 1105; 10. Brandon Wiley, 1070; 10. Jason Horton, 1070


IMCA Modifieds
Race #7     06/04/2016

Main Event Results: 1. Aaron Rodarte, Ventura, 20 Laps; 2. Chris Crompe, Nipomo, 20 Laps; 3. Austin Rodarte, Ventura, 20 Laps; 4. Jack Parker, Simi Valley, 20 Laps; 5. Dennis Eckert, Canyon Country, 20 Laps; 6. Andrew Greiman, Newbury Park, 20 Laps; 7. Scott Olsen, 20 Laps; 8. Luis Espinoza, Castaic, 20 Laps
Lap Leaders: Aaron Rodarte (1-20)

Heat Race Winners:   Heat 1: Aaron Rodarte

Top 10 in points:  1. Austin Rodarte, 226; 2. Jack Parker, 213; 3. Andrew Greiman, 203; 4. Luis Espinoza, 201; 5. Scott Olsen, 161; 6. Aaron Rodarte, 149; 7. Dennis Eckert, 132; 8. Chuck Costabile, 95; 9. Mike Kirby, 76; 10. Mark Davis, 73


Report Created by Ventura Raceway Scoring Program
Report Created: 06/06/2016 06:28