Guy Woodward makes a last corner pass to win the VRA Sprint Car Feature.

Guy Woodward takes advantage of lapped cars to pass Rick Hendrix in turn four for the win.

Johnny Conley wins his third Dwarf Car Feature of the season.

Aaron Rodarte, former IMCA track champion, wins his first main of the season.

Pat Kelly wins a green-white checkered California Lightning Sprint Car Main.

Ventura Raceway returned to its regular racing schedule Saturday night May 14, with a full program of racing featuring VRA Sprints, VRA Dwarf Cars, IMCA Modifieds and the winged California Lightning Sprints.  Competition was hard fought and very competitive, with a smaller than normal car counts in Sprints and Modifieds.

In VRA 360 Sprints, a small field of 7 cars signed into the pits for their fifth race of the season.  It was a night that saw Rick Hendrix lead 19 of the 20 laps run, only to lose the lead to winning driver Guy Woodward as the two drivers came through the final turn on lap 20.  Following Woodward and Hendrix across the finish line were Hobie Conway, Austen Figueroa and Chris Meredith. Their one heat race win went to Guy Woodward.  Rick Hendrix now leads in the point race by 45 points over Guy Woodward and 265 points over Austin Figueroa after five races.

VRA Dwarf Cars returned to action Saturday with past champ Johnny Conley leading all but 3 of the 20 lap main to take his third win of 2016. Conley’s win was over point leader Jeff Fillingame, Tommy Velasquez III, Tim Conley and Tom Stephens Jr.  Their four heat races went to Jason Horton, Jeff Fillingame and Johnny Conley.  There were 21 dwarf cars signed in for the night’s action.  Five races into the new season finds Jeff Fillingame leading in points by 95 points over Tim Conley and 160 points over Tim Conley.

IMCA Modified action saw Aaron Rodarte beat his brother Austin to the line to take the 2o lap feature win.   Following Aaron and Austin to the finish line were Andrew Greiman, Mark Davis and Jack Parker. There were two heat races run, with wins going to Aaron Rodarte and Jack Parker.   Austin Rodarte now leads Jack Parker and Andrew Greiman by 9 points after four races in 2016.

The final group racing Saturday night was the California Lightning Sprints.  Their 20 lap race ran green white checker with Pat Kelly taking the win over Darren Hillberg, Bruce Douglas, Cody Nigh and Jeffrey Dyer.  Two heat races were run with wins going to Jeffrey Dyer and Jon Robertson.

Ventura Raceway continues its 2016 season next Saturday May 21, with the first of three USAC Midget appearances of 2016, leading up to the 2016 Turkey Night Grand Prix in November.  Also on the card that night will be VRA Dwarf Cars, IMCA Modifieds, Focus Midgets, Hobby Stocks and Go Karts.

Ventura Raceway Race Results for 05/14/2016

VRA Sprint Cars
Race #6     05/14/2016

Main Event Results: 1. Guy Woodward, Santa Clarita, 20 Laps; 2. Rick Hendrix, Palmdale, 20 Laps; 3. Hobie Conway, Ventura, 20 Laps; 4. Austen Figueroa, El Segundo, 20 Laps; 5. Chris Meredith, Thousand Oaks, 20 Laps; 6. Tyler Williams, Suwanee, Georgia, 20 Laps; 7. Tommy Dunkel, Hesperia, 20 Laps
Lap Leaders: Rick Hendrix (1-19), Guy Woodward (20)

Heat Race Winners:  Extreme Mufflers Heat 1: Guy Woodward

Top 10 in points:  1. Rick Hendrix, 1075; 2. Guy Woodward, 1030; 3. Austen Figueroa, 810; 4. Tommy Dunkel, 765; 5. Tyler Williams, 740; 6. Jeremy Ellertson, 725; 7. Chris Meredith, 680; 8. Charlie Butcher, 640; 9. Hobie Conway, 580; 10. Luis Espinoza, 505


IMCA Modifieds
Race #5     05/14/2016

Main Event Results: 1. Aaron Rodarte, Ventura, 20 Laps; 2. Austin Rodarte, Ventura, 20 Laps; 3. Andrew Greiman, Newbury Park, 20 Laps; 4. Mark Davis, Ventura, 20 Laps; 5. Jack Parker, Simi Valley, 20 Laps; 6. Luis Espinoza, Castaic, 20 Laps; 7. Chuck Costabile, Simi Valley, 19 Laps; 8. Scott Olsen, 1 Lap; 9. John Romero, Port Hueneme, 0 Laps
Lap Leaders: Mark Davis (1-3), Aaron Rodarte (4-20)

Heat Race Winners:   Heat 1: Aaron Rodarte;  Heat 2: Jack Parker

Top 10 in points:  1. Austin Rodarte, 153; 2. Jack Parker, 144; 3. Andrew Greiman, 132; 3. Luis Espinoza, 132; 5. Aaron Rodarte, 112; 6. Scott Olsen, 99; 7. Dennis Eckert, 98; 8. Mark Davis, 74; 9. Chuck Costabile, 64; 10. Robbie Witwer, 40; 10. Mike Kirby, 40


VRA Pro Dwarf Cars
Race #5     05/14/2016

Main Event Results: 1. Johnny Conley, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 2. Jeff Fillingame, Santa Paula, 20 Laps; 3. Tommy Velasquez III, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 4. Tim Conley, Oxnard, 20 Laps; 5. Tom Stephens Jr, Ventura, 20 Laps; 6. Nick Velasquez, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 7. Trenton Morley, Woodland Hills, 20 Laps; 8. Brandon Busenbark, Santa Clarita, 20 Laps; 9. David Conley, Oxnard, 20 Laps; 10. Todd Atkins, Ventura, 20 Laps; 11. Tommy Velasquez, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 12. Kody Cowan, Lancaster, 19 Laps; 13. Chase Lippert, Thousand Oaks, 8 Laps; 14. Paul Hinton, Ventura, 8 Laps; 15. Cody Black, Moorpark, 6 Laps; 16. Jeff Brink, Ventura, 5 Laps; 17. Gage Cheek, Valencia, 4 Laps; 18. Jason Horton, Oxnard, Did not show
Lap Leaders: Tommy Velasquez III (1-3), Johnny Conley (4-20)

Heat Race Winners:  Heat 1: Jason Horton; Heat 2: Jeff Fillingame; Heat 3: Johnny Conley

Top 10 in points:  1. Jeff Fillingame, 1100; 2. Tim Conley, 1005; 3. Johnny Conley, 940; 4. David Conley, 930; 5. Tom Stephens Jr, 875; 6. Tommy Velasquez III, 865; 7. Nick Velasquez, 840; 8. Trenton Morley, 780; 8. Gage Cheek, 780; 10. Jason Horton, 760


Cal. Lightning Sprints
Race #2     05/14/2016

Main Event Results: 1. Pat Kelly, Chino, 20 Laps; 2. Darren Hillberg, Corona, 20 Laps; 3. Bruce Douglass, Ventura, 20 Laps; 4. Cody Nigh, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 5. Jeffrey Dyer, Victorville, 20 Laps; 6. Bobby Michnowicz, Lomita, 20 Laps; 7. Dan Hillberg, Placentia, 20 Laps; 8. Alex Grigoreas, Upland, 20 Laps; 9. James Heling, San Bernardino, 20 Laps; 10. Wyatt Downing, Lakewood, 20 Laps; 11. Jon Robertson, Torrance, 19 Laps; 12. Aiden Lange, Lakewood, 19 Laps; 13. Dale Gamer, Anaheim, 19 Laps
Lap Leaders: Pat Kelly (1-20)

Heat Race Winners:  Heat 1: Jeffrey Dyer; Heat 2: Jon Robertson

Top 10 in points: