Troy Rutherford held off the rain and some great drivers to win the first round of the All Coast Challenge and the $3000.00.

Ventura CA - March 19, 2011.....2010 VRA Champion Troy Rutherford had something to prove Saturday night March 19th after falling out early on March 12. He came back with a fury to take the win in the first All Coast Challenge Series Race and pocket the $3,000 winners purse and take the All Coast Challenge Series point lead.

The first All Coast Challenge Race of 2011 was just what all in attendance expected as the top VRA drivers and a few out of the area challengers battled to see who would take the $3,000 winners share of the purse and also take the point lead in the three race series that will conclude in October. USAC/CRA Series Champion Mike Spencer, Nick Faas and Jon Stanbrough led the visiting contingent against the VRA regulars on Saturday night. On the night they would meet with varied success as Spencer finished 6th, Stanbrough finished 8th and Faas failed to make the main finishing one spot out of the transfer spot in the semi main. The night belonged to 2010 VRA Series Champion Troy Rutherford as he put his number 11 sprinter out front on lap 5 passing Kyle Smith, who led the first four laps, and went on to lead the rest of the way to take the 30 lap feature. Following Rutherford across the finish line were Derek Buckley, Johnathon Henry, VRA point leader Greg Taylor and Cory Kruseman. Taylor now holds a slim 65 point lead over Rutherford in the 2011 VRA series point battle. four heat races were competed on Saturday night with wins going to Johnathon Henry, Derek Buckley, Greg Taylor and Don Gansen. One 12 lap semi main was run with the win going to Justin Kierce.

Ventura Raceway Race Results for 03/19/2011

VRA Sprint Cars
Race #3 03/19/2011

Main Event Results: 1. Troy Rutherford, Ojai, 30 Laps; 2. Derek Buckley, Ojai, 30 Laps; 3. Johnathon Henry, Stockton, 30 Laps; 4. Greg Taylor, Ventura, 30 Laps; 5. Cory Kruseman, Ventura, 30 Laps; 6. Mike Spencer, Temecula, 30 Laps; 7. Brent Camarillo, Camarillo, 30 Laps; 8. Jon Stanbrough, brownsburg, IN, 30 Laps; 9. Steve Conrad, Quartz Hill, 30 Laps; 10. Jimmy Crawford, Ventura, 30 Laps; 11. Justin Kierce, Reseda, 30 Laps; 12. Don Gansen, San Bernardino, 30 Laps; 13. John Nock, Newhall, 30 Laps; 14. Cliff Warren, Camarillo, 29 Laps; 15. Josh Ford, Camarillo, 29 Laps; 16. Austin DeBlauw, lVentura, 29 Laps; 17. Brandon Thomson, Ventura, 28 Laps; 18. Kyle Smith, Moorpark, 10 Laps; 19. Brody Roa, Buena Park, 10 Laps; 20. Steve Hix, Ventura, 4 Laps
Lap Leaders: Kyle Smith (1-4), Troy Rutherford (5-30)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Johnathon Henry; Heat 2: Derek Buckley; Heat 3: Greg Taylor; Heat 4: Don Gansen

Top 10 in points: 1. Greg Taylor, 690; 2. Troy Rutherford, 635; 3. Steve Conrad, 520; 4. Justin Kierce, 510; 5. Don Gansen, 485; 6. Josh Ford, 480; 7. Brandon Thomson, 440; 8. Derek Buckley, 430; 9. Brent Camarillo, 425; 10. Cory Kruseman, 400; 10. Brody Roa, 400

2 VRA Sprints, Senior Sprints, Dwarf Cars, Sport Compacts, Mod Lite, Mod Lite Jr., Jr. Midgets & Mini Dwarfs
16 VRA Sprints, Senior Sprints, IMCA Modifieds, Pro Dwarf Cars, CA Lightning Sprints & Go Karts
23 VRA Sprints, VRA Midgets, IMCA Modifieds, Focus Midgets, Jr. Focus Midgets & Go Karts
30 Senior Sprints, VRA Midgets, IMCA Modifieds, Dwarf Cars & Sport Compacts

7 VRA Sprints, Senior Sprints, IMCA Modifieds, Dwarf Cars, Mod Lite, Mod Lite Jr., Jr. Midgets & Mini Dwarfs
VRA Sprints, VRA Midgets, Focus Midgets, Jr. Focus Midgets, Sport Compacts & Go Karts
VRA Sprints, VRA Midgets, IMCA Modifieds, Focus Midgets, Jr. Focus Midgets & Go Karts

         FULL 2011 SCHEDULE


March 19th
Troy Rutherford Winner
June 25th

October 29th


March 19th
Cory Kruseman Winner
June 25th
August 3rd
September 17th
November 19th