Ventura Raceway


Best Synthetics 4u

September 29, 2012 Results

David Prickett wins the final ARP Battle at the Beach while Ronnie Gardner was crowned the King of the Beach

Ronnie Gardner was crowned the King of the Beach. Ronnie driving for Mitchell Johnson had won three of the four ARP Battle at the Beach Mains.

David Prickett with a last lap pass on Cody Swanson wins the final ARP Battle at the Beach.

Victor Davis enjoys his VRA Senior Sprint Car Feature with his crew.

Donald Houghton wins the IMCA Modified Feature.

Jack Parker wins another IMCA Modified track Championship

Zack Peterson wins the VRA Sports Compact Main.

The 2012 ARP Battle at the Beach Championship, and $1,500 winnerís purse was awarded to visiting driver David Prickett after an intense battle that began with Ronnie Gardner, Cody Swanson and Prickett all battling for the lead. Gardner who had won the first three Battle at the Beach events in 2012 jumped out to an early lead over Swanson. He led the first 26 laps of the 30 lap main event only to have Swanson pass him on lap 27 and lead until Prickett got by him on the final lap when Swanson went too wide in turn 2 allowing Prickett, who had started 10th, to get by him on the low side and go on to take the prestigious win. Gardner finished third and clinched the King of the Beach title with Austin Smith fourth and Greg Edenholm fifth.

With 13 midgets in the pits all vying for the winnerís purse and the ARP surf board trophy, the crowd knew that racing would be intense. Two heart races were held with wins going to Cody Swanson in the Sander Engineering Heat One and Conner Kassik in the Schroeder Racing Products Heat Two. The season continues next Saturday night where these same midget drivers will conclude their season long point race. Currently Cody Swanson leads Greg Edenholm by 110 points after nine races.

VRA Senior Sprints were on hand with 8 cars in attendance. They ran one heat race with the win going to Bruce Douglass. The 20 lap feature was a hard fought win by Victor Davis over point leader Clif Warren who was nipping at his tail tank for most of the race. They were followed to the checkered flag by Russell Deblauw, Chris Meredith and Douglass. After Saturday night Warren holds a 15 point lead over Davis after nine races.

IMCA Modifieds also were on the card Saturday night with the 20 lap feature win going to past IMCA track champion Donald Houghton over Brad Prows, Tom Topping and Wayne Heurung. Parker was crowned 2012 IMCA Track Champion Saturday night for his third track championship. Brad Prows finished second in the final points followed by Mark Davis, Wayne Heurung and Steve Bulpitt. Two heats were run with wins going to Prows in the Extreme Muffler Heat One and Parker in the Speedway Engineering Heat Two.

In VRA Sport Compact racing the night saw the heat race wins go to Michaela Stanton and Zack Peterson. Their 20 lap main event went to point leader Zack Peterson who battled James Carlucci, Michaela Stanton, Mike Stanford and James Adler for 20 laps to get his win. Peterson's win keeps him 40 points ahead of Jess Carlucci after 11 races in 2012.

Ventura Raceway Race Results for 09/29/2012

VRA Midgets
Race #9 09/29/2012

Main Event Results: 1. David Prickett, Fresno, 30 Laps; 2. Cody Swanson, Norco, 30 Laps; 3. Ronnie Gardner, Norco, Ca, 30 Laps; 4. Austin Smith, Chino Hills, 30 Laps; 5. Greg Edenholm, Pacific Grove, 30 Laps; 6. Kyle Smith, Moorpark, 30 Laps; 7. Rick Hendrix, Palmdale, 30 Laps; 8. Randi Pankratz, Atascadero, 30 Laps; 9. Trevor Cooper, New Zealand, 28 Laps; 10. Wink Schweitzer, Bakersfield, 28 Laps; 11. Kyle Edwards, Fountain Valley, 15 Laps; 12. Connor Kassik, Lake Havasu City, 12 Laps; 13. Cory Kruseman, Ventura, Did not show
Lap Leaders: Ronnie Gardner (1-26), Cody Swanson (27-29), David Prickett (30)

Heat Race Winners: Sander Engineering Heat 1: Cody Swanson; Schroeder Racing Products Heat 2: Connor Kassik

Lucas Oil Hard Charger: David Prickett
DJ Safety Hard Luck: Cory Kruseman

Top 10 in points: 1. Cody Swanson, 1930; 2. Greg Edenholm, 1815; 3. Randi Pankratz, 1730; 4. Ronnie Gardner, 1690; 5. Wink Schweitzer, 1475; 6. Kyle Smith, 1335; 7. Danny Ebberts, 1155; 8. Bruce Hiroshima, 810; 9. Kyle Edwards, 805; 10. Bruce Douglass, 710

Final Top 10 in ARP Battle at the Beach points: 1. Ronnie Gardner, 980; 2. Cody Swanson, 910; 3. Greg Edenholm, 780; 4. Randi Pankratz, 760; 5. Kyle Smith, 600; 6. Wink Schweitzer, 515; 7. Kyle Edwards, 465; 8. Danny Ebberts, 445; 9. Bruce Douglass, 375; 10. Bruce Hiroshima, 310


IMCA Modifieds
Race #12 09/29/2012

Main Event Results: 1. Donald Houghton, Rosamond, 20 Laps; 2. Brad Prows, Oak View, 20 Laps; 3. Jack Parker, Simi Valley, 20 Laps; 4. Tom Topping, Eagle Rock, 20 Laps; 5. Wayne Heurung, Ventura, 20 Laps; 6. Steve Bulpitt, Culver City, 20 Laps; 7. Mark Davis, Ventura, 20 Laps; 8. James Stowe, Ridgecrest, 20 Laps; 9. Dennis Eckert, Canyon Country, 12 Laps
Lap Leaders: Dennis Eckert (1-12), Donald Houghton (13-20)

Heat Race Winners: Extreme Mufflers Heat 1: Brad Prows; Speedway Engineering Heat 2: Jack Parker

Oldies Speed Shop Hard Charger: Donald Houghton
Oldies Speed Shop Hard Luck: Dennis Eckert

Top 10 in points: 1. Jack Parker, 435; 2. Brad Prows, 417; 3. Mark Davis, 377; 4. Wayne Heurung, 361; 5. Steve Bulpitt, 283; 6. James Stowe, 242; 7. Aaron Rodarte, 238; 8. Tom Topping, 235; 9. Austin Rodarte, 233; 10. Dennis Eckert, 229


VRA Senior Sprints
Race #10 09/29/2012

Main Event Results: 1. Victor Davis, Simi Valley, 20 Laps; 2. Cliff Warren, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 3. Russel Deblauw, Ventura, 20 Laps; 4. Chris Meredith, Thousand Oaks, 20 Laps; 5. Bruce Douglass, Ventura, 20 Laps; 6. Wayne Heurung, 19 Laps; 7. Greg Andrews, Fillmore, Ca, 19 Laps; 8. Ed Schwarz, Santa Fe Springs, 15 Laps
Lap Leaders: Chris Meredith (1), Victor Davis (2-20)

Heat Race Winners: SpinTech Mufflers Heat 1: Bruce Douglass

DJ Safety Hard Luck: Ed Schwarz

Top 10 in points: 1. Cliff Warren, 2045; 2. Victor Davis, 2030; 3. Bruce Douglass, 1965; 4. Chris Meredith, 1685; 5. Wally Pankratz, 1515; 6. Wayne Heurung, 1380; 7. Ed Schwarz, 1370; 8. Greg Andrews, 1090; 9. Mike Cook, 555; 10. Leroy Anderson, 510


VRA Sport Compacts
Race #10 09/29/2012

Main Event Results: 1. Zachary Peterson, Oxnard, 20 Laps; 2. Jess Carlucci, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 3. Michaela Stanton, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 4. Mike Stanford, 20 Laps; 5. James Adler, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 6. Brad Long, Burbank, 20 Laps; 7. Bruce Fink, Port Hueneme, 20 Laps; 8. KC Cook, 19 Laps; 9. John Butcher, Santa Barbara, 19 Laps
Lap Leaders: Bruce Fink (1-3), Zachary Peterson (4-20)

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Zachary Peterson; Heat 2: Michaela Stanton

Top 10 in points: 1. Zachary Peterson, 2270; 2. Jess Carlucci, 2230; 3. James Adler, 2020; 4. Brad Long, 1850; 5. John Butcher, 1720; 6. Michaela Stanton, 1530; 7. Heath Morton, 1005; 8. Mike Stanford, 965; 9. Trevor Fitzgibbon, 780; 10. Bud Crudo, 470



1 Motorcycles & Quads (Oval & Motocross tracks)
8 VRA Sprints, Senior Sprints, Dwarf Cars, Focus Midgets & Go Karts
15 VRA Midgets, IMCA Modifieds, Sport Compacts, NMRA TQ Midgets, QRC Karts & Quads
22 VRA Sprints, Dwarf Cars, Mod Lites, California Lightning Sprints, Junior Midgets & Mini Dwarfs
VRA Midgets (ARP Battle at the Beach Final), Senior Sprints, IMCA Modifieds & Sport Compacts

VRA Midgets, Senior Sprints (John Jewett Memorial), Dwarf Cars, Mod Lites, Go Karts, Junior Midgets & Mini Dwarfs
27 VRA Sprints, Senior Sprints, Dwarf Cars, Sport Compacts, Mod Lites, Quads, Junior Midgets & Mini Dwarfs

3 Motorcycles & Quads (Oval & Motocross tracks)
10 VRA Sprints (All Coast Challenge #3),Dwarf Cars, Focus Midgets & Go Karts

          2012 Schedule.pdf

March 10th
Mike Spencer Winner

July 21st

Brody Roa Winner

November 10th

June 16th
Ronnie Gardner

August 1st
Ronnie Gardner

August 25th
Ronnie Gardner

September 29th
David Prickett

King of the Beach
Ronnie Gardner