2010 VRA Forms


2010 Rules now available


March 13, 2010 Results

Kierce wins opener

Opening night, Saturday March 13, proved to be a night of exciting racing in all divisions taking part. On a beautiful afternoon, the racers and crews returned to find Ventura Raceway ready for the beginning of a new season.

VRA Sprints headlined the night with 34 cars signed into the pits. All the regulars were there along with a good number of new drivers making their VRA Sprint Car debut. Among them were Marcus Niemela all the way from Finland and Brody Roa, from a great racing family, Jeff Fillingame from dwarf cars, and Daniel Voyles who raced Jr. Focus. All of these drivers had good opening nights and we can expect to see a lot from them in 2010. The night belonged to 2009 champion Kevin Kierce who started from the pole in the 30 lap main and was never headed. The two time VRA Champion made it clear to all that he has his sights set on three championships in a row. Following Kierce to the finish were Troy Rutherford,
Josh Ford, Steve Conrad, Brent Camarillo, Cody Kershaw, John Nock, and Greg Taylor. Camarillo and Fords finishes were even more impressive as they came from19th and 17th starting positions respectively.
Heat race wins went to Greg Taylor, Cody Kershaw, Clark Templeman and Rick Hendrix. The 12 lap semi main went to Josh Ford.

VRA Senior Sprints were also on hand Saturday night for their opener. Many time Senior champion Wiley Miller was the man to beat as he took win number one for 2010. Russell DeBlauw took second followed by 2009 champion Bruce Douglas, Mike Collins and Cliff Warren. There were 23 Seniors in the pits so a semi main was run the win went to Gil Mahoney. There were two first time racers in this class as well Saturday night. Both drivers, Mike Neal and Kevin Alverson have made the move from VRA Dwarf Cars.
Heat race wins went to Cliff Warren, Bob Alderman and Danny Miller.

There were 13 rear wheel VRA Sport Compacts signed in Saturday night. Series champion Brent Underwood was back to try to get the season off to a great start. Cody Greiman drove a great race to take the main event win. Heat race wins went to Mike Frazier and Trevor Fitzgibbon.

USAC Ford Focus Midgets and Young Gun, formerly called Junior Focus, were also racing Saturday night. In Focus action, Nic Carlson took the win after having to go to the back after repairs. He passed the field to take his first win of the new season. Jet Davison, Kyle Edwards, Jake Blackhurst and Andrew Mulhearn rounded out the top five. In Young Guns, Casey Martinez took the feature win with Alex Jacobson, Win Frazin, Tanner Kershaw and Collin Henry. Nic Carlson and Casey Martinez took the heat race victories in their respective classes.

With opening night behind us we now move on to a special event this coming Saturday March 20. On that night we feature the opening round of the All Coast Challenge. This special race for VRA Sprints pays $2,000 to win. Be sure to come out for this one as it always is a great race. Along with the sprints we will have VRA Pro Dwarf Cars, IMCA Modifieds , VRA Sport Compact and Go Karts.

VRA Sprint Cars

Main Event Results: 1. Kevin Kierce, Reseda, 30 Laps; 2. Troy Rutherford, Ojai, 30 Laps; 3. Josh Ford, Camarillo, 30 Laps; 4. Steve Conrad, Quartz Hill, 30 Laps; 5. Brent Camarillo, Camarillo, 30 Laps; 6. John Nock, Newhall, 30 Laps; 7. Ronnie Case, Camarillo, 30 Laps; 8. Greg Taylor, Ventura, 30 Laps; 9. Dakota Kershaw, Agoura, 30 Laps; 10. Guy Woodward, Santa Clarita, 30 Laps; 11. Rick Hendrix, Palmdale, 30 Laps; 12. Austin Mero, Kingsburg, 30 Laps; 13. Kenny Perkins, Victorville, 30 Laps; 14. Don Gansen, San Bernardino, 30 Laps; 15. Clark Templeman III, Santa Clarita, 30 Laps; 16. Tony Dighera, Westlake, 30 Laps; 17. Justin Kierce, Reseda, 30 Laps; 18. Kyle Smith, Moorpark, 29 Laps; 19. Cody Kershaw, Oak Park, 23 Laps; 20. Jeff Fillingame, Santa Paula, 0 Laps

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Don Gansen; Heat 2: Cody Kershaw; Heat 3: Clark Templeman III; Heat 4: Rick Hendrix

Top 10 in points: 1. Kevin Kierce, 255; 2. Troy Rutherford, 235; 3. Josh Ford, 205; 3. Steve Conrad, 205; 5. John Nock, 180; 5. Ronnie Case, 180; 7. Brent Camarillo, 175; 8. Dakota Kershaw, 170; 8. Greg Taylor, 170; 10. Rick Hendrix, 165


VRA Senior Sprints

Main Event Results: 1. Willey Miller, Yorba Linda, 20 Laps; 2. Russel Deblauw, Ventura, 20 Laps; 3. Bruce Douglass, Ventura, 20 Laps; 4. Mike Collins, Lake Forest, 20 Laps; 5. Cliff Warren, Camarillo, 20 Laps; 6. Danny Miller, Yorba Linda, 20 Laps; 7. Rob Kershaw, Oak Park, 20 Laps; 8. Victor Davis, Simi Valley, 20 Laps; 9. Wally Pankratz, Orange, 20 Laps; 10. Bob Alderman, Calabasas, 20 Laps; 11. John Richards, Ventura, 20 Laps; 12. Mark Chuhaloff, Ventura, 20 Laps; 13. Bill Badger, Canyon Country, 20 Laps; 14. Chris Meredith, Thousand Oaks, 20 Laps; 15. Gil Mahoney, La Crescenta, 20 Laps; 16. Richard Terry, Thousand Oaks, Did not start

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Cliff Warren; Heat 2: Bob Alderman; Heat 3: Danny Miller

Top 10 in points: 1. Willey Miller, 255; 2. Russel Deblauw, 235; 3. Bruce Douglass, 215; 4. Mike Collins, 210; 5. Cliff Warren, 205; 6. Danny Miller, 195; 7. Victor Davis, 170; 7. Bob Alderman, 170; 9. Wally Pankratz, 160; 10. Rob Kershaw, 155


VRA Sport Compacts

Main Event Results: 1. Cody Greiman, Camarillo, 15 Laps; 2. Brent Underwood, Camarillo, 15 Laps; 3. Ryan Changus, Port Hueneme, 15 Laps; 4. Jess Carlucci, Camarillo, 15 Laps; 5. Michaela Stanton, Camarillo, 15 Laps; 6. Jason Marshall, Ventura, 15 Laps; 7. Bruce Fink, Port Hueneme, CA, 14 Laps; 8. April Banvelos, Sylmar, 14 Laps; 9. Trevor Fitzgibbon, Camarillo, 3 Laps; 10. Brandon Reta, Ventura, 3 Laps; 11. Danny Brown, Baker City, OR, 3 Laps; 12. Zachary Peterson, Oxnard, 3 Laps; 13. Mike Frazier, Santa Paula, 3 Laps; 14. Bill Changus, Fillmore, 3 Laps

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Mike Frazier; Heat 2: Trevor Fitzgibbon

Top 10 in points: 1. Cody Greiman, 250; 2. Brent Underwood, 235; 3. Ryan Changus, 215; 4. Jess Carlucci, 200; 5. Jason Marshall, 190; 6. Michaela Stanton, 180; 7. Trevor Fitzgibbon, 175; 8. Brandon Reta, 155; 8. Bruce Fink, 155; 8. Mike Frazier, 155; 8. April Banvelos, 155


Ford Focus

Main Event Results: 1. Nick Carlson, Norwalk, 16 Laps; 2. Jet Davison, Running Springs, 16 Laps; 3. Kyle Edwards, Fountain Valley, 16 Laps; 4. Jake Blackhurst, 16 Laps; 5. Andrew Mulhearn, Whittier, 16 Laps; 6. Austin Smith, Chino Hills, 16 Laps; 7. Kalvin Douglass, Ventura, 16 Laps; 8. Connor Kassik, Lake Havasu City, Did not start

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Nick Carlson

Ventura Raceway does not calculate points for this class


VRA Junior Focus Midgets

Main Event Results: 1. Casey Martinez, Riverside, 20 Laps; 2. Alex Jacobsen, San Jose, 20 Laps; 3. Daniel Williams, Glendale, 20 Laps; 4. Winn Frazin, Fontana, 20 Laps; 5. Tanner Kershaw, Oak Park, 20 Laps; 6. Collin Henry, Ventura, 20 Laps; 7. Bradley Morris, Romoland, CA, 12 Laps; 8. Al Simpson, 4 Laps; 9. Jarid Blondel, Orange, 0 Laps

Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: Casey Martinez

Top 10 in points:


Report Created by Ventura Raceway Scoring Program
Report Created: 03/17/2010 10:48

20 Open Practice (Mini Dwarfs & Jr. Midgets 10am-1pm only)
27 Open Practice (No Mini Dwarfs or Jr. Midgets)

6 VRA Sprints, Dwarf Cars, IMCA Modifieds, Jr. Midgets & Mini Dwarfs
13 VRA Sprints, Senior Sprints, Sport Compacts, USAC Ford Focus Midgets & USAC Jr. Focus Midgets
20 VRA Sprints, Pro Dwarf Cars, IMCA Modifieds, Sport Compacts & Go Karts (All Coast Challenge #1)
27 VRA Sprints, Senior Sprints, Sr. Dwarf Cars, IMCA Modifieds, Jr. Midgets & Mini Dwarfs

3 VRA Sprints, Pro Dwarf Cars, USAC Midgets, USAC Ford Focus Midgets, USAC Jr. Focus Midgets, Jr. Midgets & Mini Dwarfs
17 VRA Sprints, Senior Sprints, IMCA Modifieds, Sport Compacts, CA Lightning Sprints & Go Karts
24 Flat Track Motorcycles

         FULL 2010 SCHEDULE

March 20th
June 26th
October 23rd

click here for more info